lucky number 13.1

Guess what? I ran a half marathon yesterday. And I have the sore legs to prove it! This is the 3rd half marathon I’ve signed up for but the FIRST one I’ve actually run. (The 1st one, I couldn’t run because I got skegged in the leg with a surf board and the second one I had to work…)

I can’t believe I actually ran 13.1 miles. Before this I had never run more than 6 miles. Just the thought of  running double that plus one more mile made me want to collapse with exhaustion. And running is not my favorite thing to do either. It hurts. But I pushed through and I did it! ME… the girl who chose to be the goalie on the soccer team so that she didn’t have to run as much as everyone else (did you know that Mom and Dad?! hehe :-)) ME… the girl who swore she’d never in a million years run another mile in her life after her last basketball practice in high school. ME… the girl who dreaded the running part in both triathlons. ME… the girl who thinks a 10 minute mile is fast. ME: I’M THE GIRL WHO DID IT!

What a journey it has been and what an amazing feeling it is to not only cross the finish line, but to finish the race with my best friend. Davey is so amazing. Seriously. He has put up with my moaning and groaning and bad moods (yes. I am usually in a very bad mood while I’m running) and tears and fears; and has cheered me on and made a big deal of even small successes, like running 1 minute faster than yesterday or 2 miles further than ever before. I didn’t always love it when he said things like, “stop dragging your feet”, “run faster”, “only one more huge hill to go”… but I did love it when he told me I could do it. And he said that a lot. 🙂 I couldn’t have done it without him. (He even got second to last place in his age group because he ran with me at my turtle pace. He’s the BEST!)

So without further ado, here’s a recap of our 13.1 miles:

(p.s. a cold front moved in the night before and it was 49 degrees… brrr!)

Here we go!!!

Feeling good at mile 1!

Mile 2

Mile 3! Only 10.1 more to go! (And yes, I’m holding a tissue. It was so cold that my nose was running faster than me!)

So, wanna meet another lovely runner? This girl was running behind us from mile 1-5 and then again at mile 9-13. And she snorted and breathed heavy and clomped her feat and I even dodged one of her snot rockets. Gross. At least she made me run faster because I was trying to get away from her bodily fluids.

See us in the background?

mile 4…

Mile 5 and the most unflattering picture ever.

Mile 6! Almost 1/2 way there!!!

What a heavenly sight! We’re HALFWAY!!!! Someone calculated it perfectly… 6.5547 miles. Sheesh. Ok. Now help me get up…

Mile 7! Davey ran ahead to pee in the woods. Meanwhile I ran slow (uh, my normal pace) and kept a lookout for other runners. Isn’t this picture so fallish?! I love it! Mile 3-9 were through this lovely park where we did most of our training runs!

Mile 8 was GREAT! But taking a picture while running AND kissing Davey while he was wearing a hat was quite a challenge. This was our 4th attempt. Another runner asked us if we wanted her to take our picture, but I was too embarrassed to let her…

But guess who got a great picture of our smooch?! The race photographer!!!!!!!!!!!!!

xoxox

Between mile 8-9. I was really thirsty.

Mile Niner! That gatorade I just drank made me run so fast I am a blur in this picture!

DOUBLE DIGITS! Mile 10! Yes, I still have my tissue! This is when the race started to get really hard. I tried to convince myself that I just had to run a 5k, but my legs called my mind’s bluff. YEA RIGHT.

Mile 11. Isn’t that tree in the background so pretty?!

Mile 12! One more to go!!!

Mile 13! That Finish line never seemed so far away!

Who decided that a half marathon would be 13.1 anyway? That 0.1 miles took forever!

Hand in hand sprint to the finish! 

I JUST RAN 13.1 MILES!!! AND I CAN’T FEEL MY LEGS!!!

Flashing our fancy medals!

9 thoughts on “lucky number 13.1

  1. Wow! Congratulations! I’m so proud of both of you! The thought of a half marathon, I can’t imagine how you must feel! What an accomplishment!

  2. 1. I LOVE your comments about the trees in the background … seeing the beauty through the pain!
    2. I am pretty sure I don’t look that good after running 1 mile, much less 13.1
    3. Congrats!
    4. I tried your run-1-min-walk-1-min advice … it is way better! But so far, I’m pretty proud of my 2 miles. Maybe someday I’ll make it up to a 5k! You’re my inspiration!

    • Julie, you win for sweetest comment!! Thank you so much!!! So glad you like that run/walk method! 2 miles is awesome! Let’s find a 5k to run when we come to CA in Jan! That would be so fun!!!

  3. Oh my gosh! That was SO FUN to read. You two are so dang cute! What a real man that Davey is to run with you, Jess! How sweet is that. You two made my day! I am so proud of you. You two are seriously an INSPIRATION! I agree with Julie!

  4. Yay! You did awesome and I was glad to run by your side the whole time (except when I took a leak in the woods). Besides, I don’t really mind being the second slowest male…all that much. You are now an official half-marathoner. You only know what’s next, right…?

Leave a Reply

