inspired into action

Early on Saturday morning at 3am, we were jolted awake by what seemed like a strobe light. We peeked out the window to see a cop’s flashing lights and a tow truck dragging away all the cars that were parked on the street. Thank God we didn’t park on the street that evening. But seriously, the flashing light went on for over 2 hours. I thought I might have a seizure. We had no idea why all the cars were being towed. After we finally fell asleep, we woke up a few hours later to the sound of country music. We got up and went outside and realized that the Nashville Marathon had just started and the route went right by our apt! 20120429-135608.jpg

I love watching races. They’re SOOOO inspiring! And not to mention, entertaining! Since Nashville is Music City USA, there were bands set up all along the course playing music and cheering the runners on. There were people dressed up as Elivs, and wearing tu tu’s and even a bride and groom were running! 20120429-135619.jpg

I’ve wanted to run a marathon as long as I can remember. Specifically the NYC marathon. The only problem is that I hate running. And I’m slow. And it hurts. However, I was so inspired that I finally took some action signed up for the Music City Half-Marathon in October. Plus Davey promised to run with me so I couldn’t resist. I decided to try a 1/2 marathon 1st, and if I don’t die, I might consider doing a full marathon someday. No turning back now!To motivate ourselves, we bought new sneakers. And yes, we bought the same ones. Go Team Anderson!

Anyone wanna come to Nashville and run with us?!

5 thoughts on “inspired into action

  1. You guys are awesome! I love your new shoes! I am inspired.

    Who knew those awful flashing lights and tow trucks would result in music and a parade of runners AND in you being inspired and then inspiring me!!! A 1/2 MARATHON in October!!! Go TEAM ANDERSON!!! YOU ROCK!!!

Leave a Reply

