alive and well in death valley

I have a confession to make. I didn’t want to go to the Death Valley. I pictured a desert with miles and miles of sand and that sounded really boring compared to all the mountains we had been climbing. But guess what? Death Valley surprised me and it turned out to be one of my favorite parks! I love how there was so much beauty and life even in a place called the DEATH Valley. We were lucky to visit in the winter because the temperature only reached about 70°. In the summer, on the other hand, it can get up to 130°! And in life, when the “temperature” rises and it seems like you’re going through the fire, it’s comforting to know that God walks with us through the Valley of the Shadow of Death. What seems like a barren desert can, and will, produce life when God is at work.

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.” Isaiah 43:1-3

I'm at the top, uh bottom, of the world!

Most of the time we were below sea level

They call this the "devil's golf course". Lots of references to the devil and hell, but God was pretty obvious in every part of this park

Ever see a random stack of rocks and wonder how it got there? Wonder no more.

Through painted deserts... These rocks were known as "the artist's canvas"

Largest sand dunes in North America

We decided to have a rock stacking contest...

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland!” Isaiah 43:19

5 thoughts on “alive and well in death valley

  1. Hey! I like how in the rock stacking contest picture you made your stack look bigger than mine, even though in reality mine it TWICE as tall.

    God had/has something beautiful for us to experience even in the “valley of death.”

  2. Hey friends! I agree – the valley of death was a lot nicer and prettier than I was expecting to see from your photos! All your posts really make me want to take a road trip to explore the national parks and take a road trip someday!

    P.S. I HAVE always wondered about random stacks of rocks…. I am pretty sure I will always think of you both from here on out! xoxoxo

  3. Oh I love this…YOU GUYS! And yes, I heartily agree that God is in that desert AND with you! Thanks for the refreshing encouragement today right from the desert!

Leave a Reply

