when you can’t see through the fog

What do you do when you’re driving in thick fog? That was one of the questions I got wrong on my driver’s license test over 10 years ago. I picked answer b.) turn on your high beams. It made perfect sense to me at the time– more light=better vision. If I can’t see the road, just turn on the high beams.

photo credit

I found out that my jeep has fog lights yesterday. Yup, yesterday. They’re pretty awesome and now I turn them on even if there’s not any fog, which there hasn’t been since yesterday. But when the fog comes, I’ll be ready for it.

But I’m never really ready for the fog when it comes. In fact, I hate it. It’s not so much the fog itself, but the unknown that’s lurking within the fog. And it’s the unknown that causes me to worry.

photo credit

Motivational speaker Earl Nightingale once famously compared worry to a fog that can keep us from seeing things as they really are. He went on to point out that “a dense fog covering seven city blocks, to a depth of 100 feet, is composed of something less than one glass of water.” Categorizing our common worries, he said 40 percent of the things we worry about never happen. An additional 30 percent are things that happened in the past and can’t be changed anyway. Needless concern about our personal health occupies 12 percent of our worries, and 10 percent of our worries are petty, miscellaneous items. In other words, according to Nightingale, “Ninety-two percent of worries are pure fog with no substance at all.” That leaves about 8 percent of our worries as legitimate matters worthy of our concern.

excerpt from: Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn’t Show Up the Way You Thought He Would?

That’s really all the fog is- a very un-scary glass of water. But it’s so easy to turn the simple glass of water into a thick fog of worry that keeps growing and growing. Davey and I are still living in the fog of the unknown… but aren’t we all?! I still try to control and maintain what I cannot control or maintain. But I’m learning to resist the urge. I’m trying to lean toward God instead of panicking… trying to trust him instead of running away. Despite what my current circumstances are telling me, I know God is for me. He is there. He is working things out for my good and for your good. I’m learning to put it all, including my fear of the unknown, in the hands of the One who knows everything. Because we can trust him.

Even in the fog.

 

One thought on “when you can’t see through the fog

  1. I love this Jess! Thanks for the timely reminder that worry is a waste of time and needed energy! Love you so much. You inspire me!

Leave a Reply

