today.

today I was worrying about life. worrying about what’s next, about what the future holds, about what God wants us to do with our lives, about what I’m going to wear tomorrow… the list goes on and on. if you can think it up, I probably worried about it.

today I stumbled upon a blog with this header:

today I picked up a book that my brother gave Davey and read this:

True prayers are born of present trials and present needs. Bread, for today, is bread enough. Our payers need to be focused upon the present. We must trust God today and leave tomorrow entirely with him. The present is ours; the future belongs to God... {E.M. Bounds}

today I listened to a song called “rest in you”:

Your faithfullness endures always
Where mountains fall and reason fails
And You calm the raging seas
And You calm the storms in me, again

{I love how the last line says You calm the storms AGAIN. Thank you God for never tiring of calming my storms. it looks like hurricane season to me…}

All I know is I find rest in You
All I know is I find rest in You

My heart will praise throughout the night
Where singing seems a sacrifice
Your grace is all I need
Your grace is all I need

today I made this my google background:

I bet she’s not worrying. I mean, why would you worry when you’re walking through a beautiful field of endless yellow flowers? 

as I write, Davey is sitting at his computer doing his Bible reading homework. he just turned to me and said “Cast all your anxiety on him because He cares for you…” Oh… I just love that man so much.

Guess God doesn’t want me to worry about tomorrow, huh.

7 thoughts on “today.

  1. Hey that’s cool! I had no idea that you were writing a blog post about this when I turned around and said that. It was just a cool verse from 1 Peter…

    Awesome post. God is doing some really cool stuff in our lives.

    Love you!

  2. WONDERFUL blog entry!!! :):) LOVE the “looks like hurricane season to me” haha….how true too!!! Great to be aware of what we “worry and fret” about so
    we can “practice” giving it to the Lord!!! Love and Prayers, Mom

  3. Hello,

    My name is Christa Goodgame Armantrout. My mom is Avery Goodgame and is a HUGE fan of you and Davey. 🙂 She told me about your blog, so I’ve been checking on you two since you left California. I admire what the two of you are doing and praise God that folks like you are doing what you do. We’re not all meant for the mission field, and I am so thankful that you answered the call.

    Anyway, I wanted to reply regarding your recent blog. I love the blog header you found “,,,Tomorrow is not my business”. I’ve said for the past 10 years that the future is none of my business, it’s Gods! 🙂 Many people just don’t get that philosophy, but it makes crystal-clear sence to me! 🙂 I need to do what I can do (put money towards retirement, keep strong ties with family, etc), but worrying about the details of the future is completely out of my hands. When I finally latched on to that and knew my faith and strength was with Him, I was able to relax and not get too keyed up about the “what ifs”. Now does that mean all my worries went away? Absolutely not. But that did mean that God is gracious and always reminds me of our agreement…He’s got me covered and I don’t need to worry about the future.

    Worrying about the future is human nature, giving the future to God is Christian faith.

    Best wishes to you and Davey! I’ll keep checking in to see how you’re doing.
    🙂 Christa Armantrout

    • Christa,
      thanks so much for you comment! You have no idea how timely it was. I read it to Davey and we were both so encouraged! Glad you enjoyed the post. I need to read it to myself daily.. haha! We’re huge fans of your mom… she’s been cheering us on and believing in us since we met! Love her! Thanks Christa!

  4. Jess Anderson! I love you, lady! Awesome post! I can totally relate to everything that you wrote. I would really like to talk to you on the phone and catch up. When is the best time for me to call you? I’m so happy for you and D, and so proud of you both.

    Smoochie Boochies!!
    Nikki

Leave a Reply

