plan to be surprised

Ah yes… a new year. A fresh start. And with each new year comes reflection, planning, dreaming and anticipation. I get a kick out of looking through my old calendar and seeing what we did the year before. If I were to sum up 2010, I’d say it was always looking forward to the next thing… rarely enjoying the current moment or the mundane. Yesterday in church, our pastor used a really great analogy. He said, the holidays are like a ride at a water park… fun, delightful… an adrenaline rush. And then after the ride you say, “now what?”. Isn’t that a great picture of life (it sure is for me!)? This year I’ve learned to not despise the mundane times in between the “thrills” of life and to take time to appreciate the little things in each day. Even when things don’t go according to my plans, I’m learning to embrace the uncertainties in life and have more faith than just my middle name. (my middle name is Faith if you didn’t get that last comment) 🙂

Now for resolutions. Most every year, I am so focused on accomplishing my resolutions and attaining my goals that I feel like a horse with blinders. I don’t enjoy the journey because all I can think about is arriving at the destination! It’s pretty exhausting if you ask me!

So this year:

I am planning not to plan.

If you haven’t seen the movie “Dan in Real Life” you must. It’s one of my favorites. The main character writes a parenting advice column in a local newspaper and at the end of the movie, after nothing has gone as he planned, he makes this statement:

“I want to talk to you about the subject of plans… life plans and how we all make them, and how we hope that our kids make good, smart, safe plans of their own. But if we’re really honest with ourselves, most of our plans don’t work out as we’d hoped. So instead of asking our young people, ‘What are your plans? What do you plan to do with your life?’, maybe we should tell them this: Plan… to be surprised.”

We naturally want everything to go according to plan but the element of surprise infuses life with so much joy!

Jesus never promised that our plans would work out (sigh). He never promised security (double sigh). Instead, garanteed us that we’d have problems in this world (triple sigh). So, instead of trying to fight that for another year, I’m gonna go with it (sigh of relief)! Easier said than done, I know. I’m feeling anxious already.

Soooo, to combat the anxiety of the uncertain Davey and I have labeled 2011 as the year we’ll talk with Heaven. We don’t know what the future holds, but we know WHO holds the future 🙂

We also picked out a verse for 2011:

Philippians 4:6-7- Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Happy twenty-one-one! It’s gonna be FUN!

 

 

2 thoughts on “plan to be surprised

  1. Pingback: birthday boy | Anderson Adventures

Leave a Reply

