BE… (a hummingbird)

We ran out of coffee yesterday. All we have is decaf.  And without my usual jolt of caffeine, I dragged myself to the gym this morning. So, I was peddling in spin class and was dreaming of buying some hazelnut coffee on the way home. YUM. I also was thinking about what I would eat for breakfast…  “If you’re thinking about your grocery list or what you’re gonna do later, you’re not pedaling hard enough! Focus!” shouted my spin instructor.

Lately, I’ve been challenged to just BE. This is extremely hard for me… I can barely watch a movie without doing something else at the same time. I am also not very good at enjoying the present moment. I am always thinking about the next thing, or dreaming of an upcoming trip, or wishing I was eating pasta in Italy. I find it hard to relax too.

I heard this quote in college and then forgot about it. I came across it again today. Check it out:

Live. And Live Well. BREATHE. Breathe in and Breathe deeply. Be PRESENT. Do not be past. Do not be future. Be now. On a crystal clear, breezy 70 degree day, roll down the windows and FEEL the wind against your skin. Feel the warmth of the sun. If you run, then allow those first few breaths on a cool Autumn day to FREEZE your lungs and do not just be alarmed, be ALIVE. Get knee-deep in a novel and LOOSE track of time. If you bike, pedal HARD… and if you crash then crash well. Feel the SATISFACTION of a job well done—a paper well-written, a project thoroughly completed, a play well-performed. If you must wipe the snot from your 3-year old’s nose, don’t be disgusted if the Kleenex didn’t catch it all… because soon he’ll be wiping his own. If you’ve recently experienced loss, then GRIEVE. And grieve well. At the table with friends and family, LAUGH. If you’re eating and laughing at the same time, then might as well laugh until you puke. And if you eat, then SMELL. The aromas are not impediments to your day. Steak on the grill, coffee beans freshly ground, cookies in the oven. And TASTE. Taste every ounce of flavor. Taste every ounce of friendship. Taste every ounce of Life. Because it is most definitely a Gift.”

I have come that they (you) may have and enjoy life and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows)- John 10:10

You know that store Papyrus? Here is their logo:

I read this on the back of one of their cards:

Legends say that hummingbirds float free of time. Like a hummingbird, we

aspire to hover and savor each moment as it passes, embrace all that life has to offer and celebrate the job of everyday. The hummingbird’s delicate grace reminds us that life is rich, beauty is everywhere..

I’ve seen 4 hummingbirds in our garden this week. Kim, Sheryl and I were going to get matching hummingbird tattoos to remind us to “hover” and enjoy what’s happening right now.

This is a challenge because I crave adventure, I like to be on-the-go, I enjoy change and moving and the fact is,  I  have nothing really exciting to blog about this week.

I don’t think the drive in me to constantly see something new all the time is all that bad. But I would like to learn how to discover beauty in a season of repetition.  The whole “wake up, eat, work, eat, go to bed” monotony gets boring over time and sometimes someone needs to look at us and say, “Snap out of it! There is beauty to behold, even in your mundane little world!”

So thanks to my spin instructor and to the hummingbirds for snapping me out of it, and of course, to God for making so much beauty to enjoy. Right now. Right HERE.

Be PRESENT.

I like that.

I want to be present.  In every season.  Even the ordinary ones. And especially the exciting ones 🙂

5 thoughts on “BE… (a hummingbird)

  1. Great post Jess … that’s something I need to remind myself often. I don’t want life to breeze by without taking the opportunity to just “be” in the moment. Something good to think about!

  2. Pingback: Rest stop (a.k.a. snack break!) « Road Trip

  3. Pingback: sore muscles and the big “what’s next” question | Anderson Adventures

Leave a Reply

