a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

“all sunshine and no rain makes a desert”

I think I’m beginning to realize that, unfortunately, it’s necessary to have bad days, challenges, and trials in life because not only to they make us stronger and make us rely on God, they make the good times even sweeter.

The past few days remind me of that children’s book, Alexander and the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. So I’ve changed this post around a little.

here’s a little excerpt from the book:

Bad days make us so mad and so sad that we want to move to where terrible, horrible days maybe don’t happen… like AUSTRALIA (yes please!). But bad days also come to an end, and when you wake up the next morning, it could be the start of a wonderful, marvelous, excellent, very good day.

Yesterday marked the grossest day in my nursing career so far. Blood and guts don’t gross me out. Severed limbs, gun shot wounds, broken bones, and poop don’t even make me queasy. With that said, when people ask me, “what’s the worst/grossest thing I’ve ever seen” it’s hard to think of something that will WOW them. Well now I do.

So, I had this patient who came in for a fever. I was shocked to see this order from the doctor: please clean out pt’s wound and extract the maggots out of wound.

Was he serious? How do I even do that? Pulling maggots out of a wound was not something I learned in nursing school. Why me? I didn’t sign up for this. I’ve been in contact with every possible contagious illness, lice, chicken pox and the flu and, by the grace of God, remained healthy. But worms in a wound?!?!?!?! I HATE bugs. Fruit flies gross me out.

I had no idea what to do, so I just decided to start by covering every single inch of my body. Armed with a gown, a hair net, shoe covers, a mask, goggles, 2 pairs of gloves an another nurse, we went in, put a bag over his foot, sprayed some spray into the bag and watched as the worms crawled out of the wound. One little guy thought he could get away and came out of one hole and crawled into another. With every breath I took, I prayed that I wouldn’t pass out or throw up.

That method only extracted 3 maggots. So I had to irrigate the area with a syringe and drowned 6 more from the wound. Then for the next 3 hours of my shift I felt itchy. Why did I of all nurses get this patient? Why me?

Although it was the grossest thing I’ve ever done, I felt compassion towards the poor guy, even though his self neglect had caused this.

I also had the sweetest 76 year old lady who’s husband died suddenly in March and she never got to say goodbye. They were married for 53 years and his birthday is on the 4th of July and through her tears she told me “I just can’t go on without him”.

This morning I woke up to this:

I don’t understand. I’ve parked my jeep in the crime infested parking lots of the hospitals where I work, I’ve had it parked with the top down SO many times and nothing has ever been touched. Why did they have to do that today? The worst part is that FIVE different neighbors came over when the cop was taking the report to say that they heard the car alarm going off for 45 minutes at 4am and they came out, saw a guy by my car and DIDN’T CALL THE POLICE. Are you kidding me!?

So, after investigating, I guess someone wanted my cheap cell phone charger , AUX cable and  bag of makeup and thought it was a good idea to get in by cutting the back window, even though it unzips. They were dumb enough to leave their weapon at the scene and the CSI cops took fingerprints, so hopefully they’ll find the suspect.

This is turning into a bad day. Such a bummer! It’s a weird feeling when someone breaks into something of yours. I feel so violated. I’m thankful that it wasn’t worse and that no one got hurt, but I am a little on edge now.

And then our watermelon fell off the counter and exploded.

This was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. I feel dumb complaining about these things because a lot more horrible things are happening in the world. My problems seem insignificant in comparison. But I think that instead of trying to figure out why all these bad things happen (to good people), it might be easier to just trust the ONE who knows the answers. (and pray for a better day tomorrow).

One thought on “a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

  1. What a terrible day. So sorry about your car and so grossed out about your day at work. When it rains….. Better days ahead.

Leave a Reply

